top of page
検索
  • 執筆者の写真Albertaurus

vol. 4 - K.K. <Part 2>

 


K.K.

3rd year

Business Department, Accounting Major





First-year experience

"In my first year, I lived in lister residence and I made friends with people on my floor. I also enjoyed playing dodgeball every week with my floormates. If you want to make friends in your first year, I definitely recommend living in lister residence. It was also fun to go to Calgary where we rented a house on Airbnb and spent the new year with my floormates."

Second-year experience

"In my second year, I participated in some business-related activities. I TAed (TA: Teaching Assistant) for a management statistics course. In this course, you learn how to use excel to produce statistical data on a given data and present it in different ways using excel. As a TA, I proctored an exam and showed how to use excel to the students during the lab. In my 2nd year, I was on the job training where you are working while being trained, and in my 3rd year, I will be doing everything on my own. I also volunteered for TAX clinic which is "a free service that allows low-income individuals to have their annual tax returns completed." (from Tax Clinic website)"

Future plans

"After graduation, I am planning to start working in Canada because I can get CPA only after I graduate from university. To get CPA, you first graduate, get a job, and study for that at the same time. It usually takes 1-2 years to obtain CPA.

If you could go back to your first year, what would tell yourself?

I would definitely tell myself to procrastinate less, actually study on time, and put a decent amount of effort in every course. I understand that the first year is a transition from high school to university and you want to have a lot of fun. But it's also a time when you easily get left behind in your studies. I would also recommend seeing your advisor and consult what you want to study. Especially for a business major, you need to decide what you want to study in your 2nd and 3rd year. Advisors will help you with that, so go talk to them."

What do you like about UofA?

"I like how there are lots of people with different nationalities living together, and a decent work opportunity within university campus such as a TA position."

0件のコメント
bottom of page