top of page
検索
  • 執筆者の写真Albertaurus

vol. 4 - K.K. <Part 1>

 


K.K.

3rd year

Business Department, Accounting Major




Tell me about yourself.

"I was born in Pakistan and moved to Qatar. I went to a British system international school there. I first started to look at universities in the U.K., but I realized that there were several good universities in Canada that I could pursue what I was interested in. UofA is also highly ranked among universities in Canada and my friends in UofA convinced me to come, so I decided to come to UofA."

Accounting

"Accounting consists of two sides: financial and managerial. Financial accounting focuses on the financial transactions of a corporation. Managerial accounting is focused on analyzing and interpreting financial data to help the company pursue its goals efficiently. But in general, you learn about where the money goes in a business in both types of accounting. At UofA, you still learn both of them because you need it to get the degree.

I want to become a CPA (Certified Public Accountant) and with this certificate, I want to pursue forensic accounting. Forensic accounting is a job where you look at financial data to see fraud in a business.

I would recommend studying accounting for people who want a secure job and who is interested in how and where the money in a company goes. If you are not sure of a specific study you want to pursue in business, it's totally okay. I've seen people switching from accounting to financial, marketing to accounting, etc. in their second year.

In business, you will take broad types of classes and will have a certain idea of what you want to study in your third year. Then, you will declare your major in your third year."

Business camping

In the business department, we have 2-3 days camping in late September. It is organized by upper-year students in business, and they teach underclassmen about business-related clubs they can join, how to dress casually for business interviews, etc. They also invite some guests from business companies to teach us about CPA and internship opportunities. Also alot of fun group activities and a huge obstacle course/team activities race. Last year, more than 100 students joined and I made some friends there, so I recommend joining it if you are pursuing a business degree.


To be continued..!


0件のコメント
bottom of page